With Gov. Pat McCrory in the audience, former Secretary of State Colin Powell took aim at North Carolinas new voting law Thursday, saying it hurts the Republican Party, punishes minority voters and makes it more difficult for everyone to vote.

“I want to see policies that encourage every American to vote, not make it more difficult to vote,” said Powell, a Republican, at the CEO Forum in Raleigh.

“It immediately turns off a voting block the Republican Party needs,” Powell continued. “These kinds of actions do not build on the base. It just turns people away.”

The retired general served as the keynote speaker at the event and made his remarks moments after McCrory left the stage. His comments represent the most high-profile criticism of the Republican-crafted law that requires voters to show photo identification at the polls, cuts early voting days and makes it harder for students to vote.

In one comment, he seemed to rebuke McCrory for suggesting that voter fraud likely exists but is hard to detect. The governor had compared it to insider trading.

“You can say what you like, but there is no voter fraud,” Powell said. “How can it be widespread and undetected?”

Powell, who served under President George W. Bush, also said the new sends the wrong message to minority voters. “What it really says to the minority voters is … We really are sort-of punishing you,” he said.

READ MORE: Speaking in Raleigh, Colin Powell blasts North Carolina voting law | Under The Dome.

A high-ranking and well-respected Republican, former Secretary of State General Colin Powell, has condemned the new voter ID law recently passed in North Carolina. Although Governor McCrory asserts that there is widespread, undetected voter fraud in the state, there have been very few instances of in-person voter fraud. Powell makes some very salient points about the effects of the new law, not least of which is a message that minority votes are not important to the GOP.

***************************************************

On a personal note, I haven’t been around on WordPress much lately. I miss it and my blogfriends so much! My youngest just started kindergarten (boo-hoo), and I am about to start a new job (woo-hoo, I guess). Obligations leave me very little time to write, but I hope you all will remember me and continue to check in every once in a while. All of these recent changes are leaving me breathless and struggling to manage my time more wisely. I will be writing regularly again soon, I hope!

I also want to take this time to thank my readers (there are a couple), who take time to read and comment. I consider some of you as real friends and appreciate the opinions and perspectives you have given me. Sometimes the encouragement you gave me helped me through rough patches in my life. Thank you so very much. I shall return!

5 thoughts on “Speaking in Raleigh, Colin Powell blasts North Carolina voting law | Under The Dome

  1. Personally have missed your passionate views on what is happening in your beautiful North Carolina State: the good, bad and very very ugly. Kindergarten? Now your own life is going to be counted like the rings on a tree as your little one grows up and moves from grade to grade. Go gently….. New job!!!! Right!!! Well done!!! Hear you soon, I hope, when the dust settles…..
    I love this one: CARRY ON….and SPARKLE!

  2. Amaya, great news on the job. I understand the kindergarten sadness, but it also happens when they go off to college. I just got back from taking my second off to college. Thanks for sharing this. Colin Powell has more credibility than many, so for him to stand up in NC following the Governor (who says he left and did not hear Powell) is pretty telling. The Governor put out a statement saying he disagrees, but nothing Powell said on this issue is untrue. Take care and good luck on the new job. BTG

    1. Thank you, BTG. It’s not my dream job, but I am hopeful that it is a stepping stone. It wasn’t so hard to leave my little one at school this time around, because she was ready to go. I was happy to see her sparkly eyes so hopeful and ready to start a new adventure. I’m going to try to face the future in exactly the same way.

      1. I love sparkly eyes. Back to Colin Powell, I saw the inevitable “Buzz Comment” to the Observer who noted that “Colin Powell is not really a Republican and hasn’t been for some time.” This is the same guy the GOP wanted to run for President in 2008 and 2012. When people don’t like the words, they discount the messenger. Yet, in this case the messenger has an abundance of credibility. Thanks for doing this and good luck on all fronts, BTG

Leave a Reply

