A Dietrich science teacher is being investigated by the state’s professional standards commission after a complaint from parents over his teaching methods.

Tim McDaniel is being investigated after a complaint was filed by a handful of parents who objected to how McDaniel taught the reproductive system, Dietrich Superintendent Neil Hollingshead said.

“It is highly unlikely it would end with his dismissal,” Hollingshead said. “Maybe a letter of reprimand from the school board.”

According to McDaniel, four parents were offended that he explained the biology of an orgasm and included the word “vagina” during his lesson on the human reproductive system in a tenth-grade biology course.

via UPDATED: Full Allegations in Complaint about Dietrich Science Teacher’s Human Reproduction Lesson.

It would be an injustice if this man gets even a letter of reprimand. Reprimanded for using the word vagina during a science class on reproduction? What should he have called it? Vajayjay? Mystical orifice that cannot be named? This is just ridiculous! Is there any wonder about why the region in which he teaches has one of the highest pregnancy rates in the state? 

Human sexuality should NOT be a mystery for teens to figure out on their own. Refusing to even say the WORDS for sex organs fosters shame about those parts and the feelings surrounding them. Sexual desire is normal and healthy. Knowing what’s going on biologically is the first step in making good decisions about sex. 

Growing up, I was kept in the dark about my body and sex. I learned on my own, in secret, feeling ashamed about my curiosity and my feelings. I was taught that sex is dirty and shameful. By extension, I was dirty and shameful for thinking about it. My first sexual experience was awful and demeaning. I was disappointed in myself and could feel the eyes of God on me, judging me almost as harshly as I judged myself. It took a very long time for me to learn to enjoy a healthy sexual relationship, though the lessons I learned when young still affect me. 

I will not allow my own children to live in ignorance and shame. I will be and have been very straightforward about sex and I answer their questions whenever they have them. Teaching them respect for their own bodies and valuing themselves will, I hope, keep them from making poor decisions. If and when they decide to have sex, I will make sure they have access to birth control and are very clear on the risks of pregnancy and STDs. One photo of genital warts is worth a thousand words!

**EDITED to add: Mr. McDaniel has a Facebook petition event online. Visit to show your support!

Sources: http://www.theatlanticwire.com/national/2013/03/high-school-sex-ed-teacher-being-punished-saying-word-vagina/63617/

http://magicvalley.com/news/local/state-investigates-complaint-about-dietrich-science-teacher-s-human-reproduction/article_47dec69a-963f-11e2-a856-001a4bcf887a.html

2 thoughts on “Idaho Teacher Investigated for saying “VAGINA” In Optional Human Reproduction Science Class

  1. Amaya, the school should stand by him and say he did nothing wrong. If you cannot refer to something using its anatomical name, then that what else can you do. I sure hope those parents don’t let their kids watch a golf tournament so they can avoid hearing the words erectile dysfunction.

    We need more people stand up to ignorance and back people who are the target of inappropriate criticism. I made the comment to Barney on those who vote for gun control when they become the targets of the NRA. The correct answer is I voted for gun control to save lives, why didn’t you? Next question.

    Thanks for sharing, BTG

Leave a Reply

