Mitt Romney upstaged by Empty Chair!!

5 thoughts on “Empty Chair is the Most Popular Guest at the RNC

  1. I really like Clint Eastwood as an actor and director, but clearly this was not his finest moment. As a person who supports women’s rights and other important issues I will NOT vote for Romney, but I must admit that both Eastwood and his performance brought me a modicum of satisfaction. It demonstrated just how important the American public is to the Republican party — we are the invisible ‘help’ – whose only worth is to serve and vote for their mendacious platform.

    1. Ayanna, although I respect your opinion on this, it is apparent you do not understand the Republican party. I’ve been a conservative since about 1990, when I was a low level supervisor in the military. I was part of “the help” as you put it… I do not consider myself “Republican”, but what began to resonate with me at that time was the sense of support for “good values” in society. You probably would disagree with me on what defines good values, only because every person defines those for him/her-self. However, you’d probably agree that crime rates in he early 90’s were well on the rise from what they were in the late 80s… Drug abuse was heavily addressed during the Reagan and Bush years, but were nearly abandoned during the “I didn’t inhale” era.

      I am personally anti-abortion pro-life, no choice. I’m also not very PC in how I explain that… Not really sorry if any of my terms offend. Those are some “good values” I saw in the conservative movement at that time.

      By pointing out that the ’empty chair’ represents the ‘invisible help – whose only worth is…’ as you did, you are applying a class warfare euphemism that does not exist within the Republican party. In fact, I am now a lower-middle-class business owner (if you want to apply classist terms) and I feel the Republican party is not only helping me with their platform in my business, but helping me to grow my business.

      Two years ago, as a very investigative person, I read every page of the healthcare bill because I knew it had implications on my business… I had already placed a bid on a new multi-million dollar contract which would have only profited the company a couple hundred thousand dollars, but would have allowed me to bring on 6 new employees. I had to quit my bid because of the huge increase in business cost to me if I hired 6 new people… Couldn’t provide the service on the contract with the 6, so had to quit the process.

      I am sorry you don’t understand the Republican point of view. I’m not sure what I can do to help you understand. But, before anyone can help, you need to be open-minded enough to accept a newer way of thinking without the pre-judgement that inhibits growth.

  2. I must confess I did not see the GOP convention, so I cannot speak to Mr. Eastwood’s performance. As an independent voter who left the GOP in 2006 and votes for both Dems and Reps alike, my main concerns with the GOP platform are many. My reason for leaving was their refusal to admit as a group that global warming is here and is man-influenced – the data is overwhelming and supported by 97% of scientists. We must thoughtfully plan ahead an eco-energy solution to divorce ourselves from fossil fuels at more rapid pace. I am also concerned by the Tea party and Grover Norquist crowd who refuse to consider tax increases. The math will not work otherwise to solve our budget and pay down debt – we must do expense (including defense) cuts and tax increases. We are one of the least taxed countries in the world (32nd out of 34 countries per the Paris based Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development). I am tired of a party that advocates no further gun control when we have 87% of all children deaths out of the 23 wealthiest nations and we have 20X the combined total of the other 22 countries for all gun deaths. To me this is the height of hypocrisy to save an unborned child and then hand him an AK47. We need to reinstate the Brady Law (but in fairness the Dems are pretty gutless on this issue as well). You tack on not doing anything to address education or the the vast income inequity in our country, plus gutting the EPA and you see why I am concerned. I see the GOP doing the opposite of what is needed. This is an independent Old Fart’s opinion for what it is worth.

    1. At least you have thought through your opinions, and for that, I respect your position. I disagree with most of your points, but a lot of that is just a difference of opinion. I’ve traveled to a LOT of other countries where I was not able to hang out at the tourist spots. As a result, I’ve come to realize that the majority of the poor in this country are pretty wealthy by comparison to the rest of the world. As to the question of why we pay so little taxes, part of the reason is that our corporate taxes are the highest of any nation in the world… part of the reason is, other countries need higher individual taxes to pay for their social welfare programs. In Germany, my neighbors paid more than 46% of their income to taxes, and then told me how they hate their free health system because of all the administrative constrictions…

      Bottom line is, the “empty chair” act by Clint was dead on by saying that our President has been vacant in doing his job. Leading from behind is not leading… It’s cowardly.

  3. Thanks for your return comments. I applaud your civil discourse, which is sorely missing in our political discussion. The OECD numbers have been tracked for at least 45 years, maybe longer. What I find interesting is not only are we 32nd out of 34 countries, but our Taxes to GDP ratio of 24.1% is almost 10% less than the average of the 34 countries of 33.8% (this is 2009 data). If you scroll back the clock to 2000, when our budget was last balanced it was around 29% versus the global average of 35%. If you contrast the US 2000 ratio to the global ratio of 2009 of 33.8%, the we are still less. This was before the Bush tax cuts, which we did not need (I said this then, not just now). So, I stand by opinion that we need spending cuts and tax increases and I personally feel we should start with the Simpson-Bowles plan as a working draft. It disappointed me that Ryan voted against Simpson-Bowles. On your poverty point – I personally volunteer to help homeless families and have been doing so for 13 years. It is shame we have the level of poverty in our country that we do. I recognize that severe poverty exists elsewhere, but we all need to do better at helping these people climb the ladder to self sufficiency. You will likely disagree with this final point, but the President has done a better job than he is given credit for – the stimulus actually worked to keep us out of depression says six non-partisan economists. The estimates I read were 2.5 million jobs created or saved and 200 basis point of GDP growth. It is ironic that Eastwood did a commercial for Chrysler who has paid the stimulus back with interest and is making significant profits again. The CEO of Chrysler said on “60 Minutes” last night that the bailout helped them refurbish their plants and make high quality cars. The estimates for the Chrysler bailout saved 300,000 jobs in the supply chain and tack on GM’s job savings, the numbers are high six figures or as much as a million. That is not doing nothing and is definitely not cowardly. Just my two cents. BTG

Leave a Reply

