Dangerous Minds | Vintage newspaper asks the question, ‘If a woman needs it, should she be spanked?’.

My dad spanked my mom once, according to her. I was a toddler, learning to walk. Mom let me go to walk on my own and I fell, just missing the corner of a coffee table. It freaked him out, he blamed her, and popped her on the ass in front of relatives. I don’t think she ever forgave him the insult. Much as I loved and idolized my dad, I agree this crossed the line. Although he didn’t hurt her, he definitely demeaned her and asserted his dominance over her. If such a thing happened to me, my man had best not fall asleep!

10 thoughts on “Vintage newspaper asks the question, ‘If a woman needs it, should she be spanked?’

  1. I have to say, those are awesome pictures, particularly the last one. Makes me think it was an article from The Onion, before The Onion came into existence.

  2. Ok, so I tried looking this up on Snopes.com and got no hits. The same newspaper piece is featured in half a dozen other blogs, all attributed to the New York Daily Mirror, which was published between 1924 and 1963. But if you look at the bottom of the page, it doesn’t day “Daily Mirror”, it says “New York Mirror”, so I’m still a bit suspect. That being said, I have little doubt that this was the prevailing attitude in America in the first half of the twentieth century. Sadly, even in the early days of the new millenium, this sort of paternalistic misogynistic nonsense hasn’t been completely bleached out of our culture. That being said, I suppose the occasional spanking isn’t completely inappropriate…but only if I’ve been a very very bad boy. :O)

    1. LOL:0) Whether or not this clipping is real, I know that pop culture of the time didn’t see much wrong with it. Check out these images, where everyone from Superman to John Wayne got in on the spanking action: http://my-retrospace.blogspot.com/2008/10/they-spanked-women-in-old-days.html

      Haven’t read the books yet, but nearly all of my female friends are raving about the 50 Shades of Grey series, in which a submissive female gets dominated and taken care of by a handsome, wealthy man. I’ve been meaning to do a post about the roots of why this turns some of us women on. I have some theories, but I wanted to read the books first for “reference.” From what I’ve heard, it’s not very well-written, but I’m happy for the author. Her first book made her a millionaire.

Leave a Reply

