(AP Photo/Chuck Burton)

John Edwards returns to a federal courthouse during the ninth day of jury deliberations in his trial on charges of campaign corruption in Greensboro, N.C., Thursday, May 31, 2012. Edwards has pleaded not guilty to six counts related to campaign finance violations over nearly $1 million from two wealthy donors used to help hide the Democrat’s pregnant mistress as he sought the White House in 2008.

Confession: I used to root for John Edwards. He comes from my neck of the woods in North Carolina, economically and culturally speaking, and I know his type. He’s the charmed golden boy everybody knows is destined to make it big in a way that nobody out of Robbins, North Carolina, ever has. When he begins to fulfill that prophecy, becoming a filthy-rich trial attorney, everybody thinks he’s still just too special to stop there, and he tends to agree. So he decides to go for it, as Edwards did when he ran for U.S. Senate in 1998. It was his first campaign, period, and it showed. I was then editing an alt-weekly in North Carolina, and we covered Edwards’ long-shot bid extensively—starting with his first-ever campaign event, at the Raleigh Women’s Club. As I remember, Edwards had absolutely nothing to say; he was a handsome grin in a good suit. We endorsed his more progressive opponent in the primary. (Oh, well.)

What drew me to Edwards came later. It so much wasn’t the messenger—though the senator’s working-class background did make one suspect that there was at least a dollop of sincerity in Edwards’ “Two Americas” preachments. More than anything, it was the populist message—largely conceptual in 2004 and sharper and more outraged, like the country, in 2007 and 2008. For those of us who stubbornly believe that populism is liberalism’s only winning message, Edwards looked like he might be a viable champion. Sadly, too few white people would ever lend an ear to Jesse Jackson’s egalitarian message. But they just might pay attention to a twangy white guy from Robbins, N.C., who wants to stick it to the greedy rich people.

via Bye Bye John Edwards.

I didn’t want to ever post about John Edwards ever again, but this article puts into words exactly how I felt about this whole surreal situation. As a North Carolinian, I was both embarrassed and horrified by his actions and infuriated at his audacity to run for president while carrying on this affair that produced a child.  If John Edwards is considering reviving his political career, I hope that he is advised that NO ONE wants to see that happen. No one like him, trusts him, or believes that he has anything of value to offer this country. Facts.

Mr. Edwards, your best bet is to stay home and concentrate on raising your kids and trying to atone for all of the pain you have inflicted on others. Your future is not in the public eye unless you want to make an even bigger fool of yourself. Count your blessings that you aren’t serving time and give up your dreams of glory. I do believe in forgiveness and redemption, but you are finished as a politician because of your own actions. Go write a book if you must, just don’t defile my television with your lying face.  

Now I am done, moving on…

3 thoughts on “Bye Bye John Edwards

  1. Yet many would see his ‘atonement’ as the very thing that makes him viable and human as well. Funny, we on the ‘liberal’ or ‘progressive’ side of the aisle are ever ready with the tar and pitch, ready to eat our own with a side of Fava beans. So certain their clay feet means they have no viable thing to offer in the way of legislative balance or thoughtfulness.

    I have always wondered why we are ready to throw our own into the fires for their personal missteps. We all have secrets. We have, every single last one of us made mistakes in our personal lives. Some of us have made terrible mistakes. His quite frankly, while hurtful to many were just that, personal. That he was prosecuted, well there are many others that should have been prosecuted for acts far worse than his; but he is a Democrat and we are joyful to lead our own to the rack and twist those gears till our heroes scream for mercy, then we give it one more twist.

    We are by far the most judgmental and hypocritical lot there are at times. While I despise all the Rethugs stands for at every level, there is one thing I have to admire about them……they stand up for and defend their own.

    1. Ouch! Perhaps I am unfair in my visceral response to Edwards cheating on his dying wife, denying his own baby, using his friends, and deceiving his campaign donors while endangering the chance to win the White House after 8 years of Bush. I thought he was the real deal back when I first voted for him in 1998. I understand your point, though my motivation for despising him is more personal than political. Elements of his story echo events in my own life.

      I “forgive” Bill Clinton for his indiscretions, if that is the right term for not really giving a shit. Eliot Spitzer and Anthony Weiner made fools of themselves, but I don’t particularly care if they attempt a return to politics. JFK was a cheater by most accounts, also MLK, Jr. I would say that they have been almost deified by most admirers. I never overestimate a man’s ability to be faithful and I’m never shocked by infidelity. Edward’s actions go much further than mere cheating that speak to his character as a human being. I would never trust this man personally or to lead the nation. Perhaps I’m irrational…I’m just happy to have a place to vent my frustration about someone I believed in once upon a time.

      Thanks for keeping it real, though, Valentine. I respect your opinion. Like I said, I will leave Edwards alone from now on. Hypocrisy is to me the worst thing in the world and I hope that I’m not guilty of it.

      1. Not unfair I suspect, but like all of us human. Edwards, like so many others before him fell for his own hype. Our problem, we place so much hope in our heroes, we fail to remember sometimes they are indeed human and thus like all of us, full of human weakness.

        I suspect the reason so many of us laughed with Clinton, he never hid his weakness for women. It was known and accepted, a part of who he was. The rest of them, we want them to be better than us, less apt to fail or be weak. We want them be not only brilliant statesmen but, saints. It is a failure on all our parts I think.

        By the way, personally I thought Edwards was a villain for his behavior towards his wife and child. This would be true whether he was seeking office or not, he simply sucked as a human being.

Leave a Reply

