I’m going to try this recipe for homemade sunscreen. I’ve been trying to replace harsh  commercial cleaners and household products with safer and cheaper alternatives. So far, I have made my own glass cleaner, all-purpose cleaner, and laundry detergent. Fabric softener has been replaced with pure vinegar in the rinse cycle-it whitens whites, removes odors, and kills mildew. I don’t use bleach or ammonia as much as I used to, which is hard for me because I am a GERM-phobe! I have also stopped using soaps that have antibacterials in them, since this only contributes to more resistant strains of bacteria populating the areas that you really DON’T want them to be living, like in your sinks and on countertops. So far, none of us have contracted any nasty bugs from stopping the use of harsh chemicals to clean.

We spend a LOT of time out in the sun. Recent news has warned about the problems with conventional sunscreen, so maybe this will be a decent alternative. I’m also on the hunt for a good natural bug-repellent recipe, because the mosquitoes are ubiquitous around here. I absolutely HATE commercial bug spray. Replacing commercial products with homemade is one way I save money, help the environment, and stick it to THE MAN. If you guys have any tried and true recipes and alternatives to share, please let me know!

1/4 cup Diaper Rash Cream (I used Desitin Maximum Strength)

1 tablespoon Coconut Oil

1 tablespoon Cocoa Butter

1 tablespoon Aloe Vera Gel

1 teaspoon Sesame Oil

1 teaspoon Beeswax

5-10 drops Lavender Essential Oil (optional)

Put all the ingredients in a glass bowl set on top of a pan of boiling water and melt all the ingredients together. Allow mixture to cool and then add your favorite essential oil (if desired).  Just make sure to avoid any of the CITRUS essential oils as they can actually cause burning. Store in a cool, dry place or in the fridge.

via How To Make Homemade Sunscreen | One Good Thing by Jillee.

One thought on “How To Make Homemade Sunscreen | One Good Thing by Jillee

Leave a Reply

