I cast my vote this morning against Amendment One, which would define marriage between one man and one woman as the ONLY legal union in the state of NC. Some of my Christian friends are advocating the amendment as a protection of marriage. They base their vote on their Christian beliefs, though Jesus had NOTHING to say on the matter. Basing discrimination on the Bible is fine, but cherry-picking should not be allowed. Chances are, if you’re a Christian that hates gays, you’d better do a bit of soul-searching about the skeletons in your own closet. MOST of the Christians I know have had premarital sex-a lot of it. Check out this pretty clear indictment of such behavior:

Deuteronomy 22:13-21

King James Version (KJV)

13 If any man take a wife, and go in unto her, and hate her,

14 And give occasions of speech against her, and bring up an evil name upon her, and say, I took this woman, and when I came to her, I found her not a maid:

15 Then shall the father of the damsel, and her mother, take and bring forth the tokens of the damsel’s virginity unto the elders of the city in the gate:

16 And the damsel’s father shall say unto the elders, I gave my daughter unto this man to wife, and he hateth her;

17 And, lo, he hath given occasions of speech against her, saying, I found not thy daughter a maid; and yet these are the tokens of my daughter’s virginity. And they shall spread the cloth before the elders of the city.

18 And the elders of that city shall take that man and chastise him;

19 And they shall amerce him in an hundred shekels of silver, and give them unto the father of the damsel, because he hath brought up an evil name upon a virgin of Israel: and she shall be his wife; he may not put her away all his days.

20 But if this thing be true, and the tokens of virginity be not found for the damsel:

21 Then they shall bring out the damsel to the door of her father’s house, and the men of her city shall stone her with stones that she die: because she hath wrought folly in Israel, to play the whore in her father’s house: so shalt thou put evil away from among you.

This is am unambiguous condemnation of ANY sexual activity outside the confines of a marriage and calls for the WHORE to be PUT TO DEATH. Crystal clear and to the point. Conversely, much of what the Bible says about homosexuality is ambiguous. This excellent article by Pastor Mark Sandlin on his blog, The God Article, points out some of the problems with the traditional Christian view of homosexuality. 

Polls are saying that this Amendment will pass, opening up the likelihood of challenges that must be fought in court, which we as taxpayers will have to pay for. Many voters are not clear on what this amendment will do to children, the elderly, and heterosexual couples who are in a domestic partnership. They don’t know that it could nullify common law rights. A recent  poll by Public Policy Polling shows that when voters are educated about the actual consequences of the amendment and who it affects, they are less likely to support it. Libertarians, conservatives and liberals should all be against Amendment One. Even the author of the bill, State Representative Jim Crawford (a Democrat!) is against the current version of the amendment!

Preach it, Clint!!

I know I’m paying a lot of attention to this issue on my blog lately, but it’s a subject very close to my heart. I have friends that will be directly affected by this disastrous amendment if it is passed. Even if you’re not from this state, rest assured a similar bill will come along in your own state if this one is successful. I will be watching the results closely today, and hoping that freedom will win after the polls close this evening!

Additional information on Amendment One in this blog:

NC Amendment One: Showdown for Civil Rights in the South

WATCH: Clergy Rebukes Media for Asking Wrong Questions About NC Amendment One

North Carolina: Vote AGAINST Amendment One – George Takei

3 thoughts on “I Voted AGAINST NC Amendment ONE Today

  1. Living in California, this is a hot button issue. I’ve said the same thing for 10 years. I don’t give a damn if someone wants to marry a horse, giraffe, or a monkey. It’s none of my business. As long as they are great people who pay their taxes and who are kind and decent, I don’t care. I got better shit to do then worrying about what goes on in someone else house, much less their bedroom. This also makes me question all these so called “Christians” who are always trying to condemn someone who doesn’t believe in their value system. Isn’t one of the biggest Christian values to love one another? I don’t think the Bible has a provision that states that you should love everyone, but on your conditions. If that was the case, alot of these “Christians” would be condemned into their own hell a long time ago. My dad had a saying “The one who cries the most, has done the least.” So it makes me wonder when all these people who are screaming at the top of their lungs about homosexuality in church are you screaming because you truly believe it? Or are you screaming because you’re scared? Or worse? Are you screaming because it hits close to home in your soul? Do they wonder what it’s like on the other side of the fence? Are your true underlying feelings screaming to come out? Are you afraid if you do that you will be judged like you are judging? I’m just saying. Just some things to think about.

    1. Very true, Mr. Soft. These points you raise are precisely why I struggled with my Christian faith as a young person. I thought the message of Christ was love, acceptance, tolerance and kindness. The brand of Christianity in modern politics is more about exclusion, discrimination and fear mixed with the amoral teachings of Ayn Rand. I can’t reconcile it with the message of love that Jesus espoused. I am so disappointed in Christians that I once respected falling prey to this insidious version of religious doctrine.

      1. Exactly. I don’t question my faith. I question the people who are these Bible carrying, Bible thumping most of the time hypocrites who are quick to judge other people, but yet when you question them, they get all tight in the throat like how dare you question me about my love for “my God.” They get on my nerves. My faith teaches that I accept people for who they are. We all have short coming. None of us are perfect. If you live long enough, you’re gonna make mistakes. So I wish some of these “Christians”would get off their high horse, stop looking down with contempt, and their Jimmy Choos, and Cole Haans on the ground and do what they are always preaching about which is to help your fellow man and love another.

Leave a Reply

